Facebook Sheikhs

Now I’m not the brightest crayon in the box when it comes to religious things, nor am I the most religious. I would go far as to say I probably come in the lower 50% on the scale of Muslim religiousness. I don’t drink alcohol or eat haraam, nor do I pray 5 times a day or keep a beard.

Granted, this is an odd opening to my first ever blog, and not much of an introduction to who I am – but I suppose I’d rather get straight into a rant than give you a fluffy intro; something like “Hi, I’m 22, from Birmingham, and at uni…” (which by the way, I am). Instead, the first paragraph is a qualifier, to disclose where I stand. I’m guarding myself against those who will shout hypocrite or accuse me of preaching hate and what not. And I’m sure there are bound to be a few, but ah well.

Surely then, Nouman Ali Khan is not the only one who’s noticed the rise of what he refers to as the ‘Facebook Sheikhs’, the distant relatives of Sheikh Google. Now before you all spit your coffee out (not Starbucks of course – but let’s leave that for another day), hear him out, I think he has a point.

I’ve never really preached to anyone about what makes the perfect Muslim. For me, if you believe there’s one God and that the last Prophet is Muhammad (PBUH), then you’re Muslim. It’s not for me to judge whether your sins are fewer than mine, or that your faith is stronger. How do I know what you’ve been through and what experiences you’re currently facing? If everyone were so certain, there wouldn’t be an issue with different views. So I try to shy away from it – and I think everyone else should too. Or at least, if you’re not ‘qualified’.

Why? Well, pretty much for the reasons outlined in the link. What’s more is the fact that most Facebook Sheikhs are not perfect themselves. If private browsing didn’t exist, I’d be able to prove it to you…

Couple this with the way in which these Facebook Sheikhs preach, you’ll understand why I’m almost always put off by them. Most of them tend to be very aggressive. They funnel their beliefs down your throat and make you feel insignificant if you question their ways. How can they expect anyone to listen if they talk in that tone? Beats me.

If they weren’t so segregated from mainstream society (be honest, you know they are), narrow-minded, and naïve; I probably wouldn’t mind them as much. But sadly, that’s not how most of them are packaged, which is a real shame.

I know of very few religious folks who I would give my time to. These special few are not from the same sect as me, and they do a few things differently to the way I was taught. But whenever they’ve spoken, I’ve listened. These few talk calmly, with a smile; they never judge and expect nothing in return for their time. Most of all, they’re always on hand with a cuppa.

Now some will protest at this, but my point is fairly simple; Facebook Sheikhs should remember that when they point a finger at someone, three fingers point back at themselves.

That’s it. Rant over.

