All Aboard the Bloggers Bandwagon

Why blog?

For me, the decision to start blogging was a result of many things linking together. If you’re interested, let me give you a quick summary, fill the page with a few more links, and then thank you for getting to the bottom of the page.

Where’d it all start?

Facebook…with status updates. Everyone kept ‘liking’ them. So I figured people actually read what I wrote on their timelines. I became known for having trivial updates and so my friends starting taking the mick. I only ever had one reply, “You like reading my statuses, so f**k off”. Then came twitter… a Facebook just for status updates and none of the complicated privacy issues! Yes – I had found my outlet.

Micro-Blogging Wasn’t Enough

140 characters were too limiting. My need to vent and write stuff extended the reach of twitter (although I still use it, follow me @OllieKhan  – yes, it’s a private account, I got fed up of bots). I wanted something where characters weren’t limited and I could talk about pretty much anything in as much, or as little detail as I pleased.

New Year, New Experience

Getting ever more frustrated with constant limitations, I thought it’d be a good idea to make starting a new blog one of my 2012 new years resolutions. It’s not even Jan 1st yet and I already have my hands in two jars. My personal blog, I’ve Ballsed It Up Haven’t I, and a collaborative one, Musk & Moccasin, which I’m sure will appeal to a wider audience. Check both out at http://iveballsedituphaventi.wordpress.com/ and https://muskandmoccasin.wordpress.com/. The collaborative authors are totally different from me in terms of personality and tastes, so do check them out; we come from similar backgrounds but life looks to be leading us down very different paths, albeit good ones.

Worried

I’d always been good at putting sentences together that were easy to read. No complex words that require a pocket dictionary (hah, remember those?), or long confusing sentences. My essays at school and college were always commended for their structure and logical approach; the only complaint I ever got was that my handwriting was piss poor. I didn’t want to lose that skill – the value of it is priceless.

Wannabe Accountant

I was very fortunate the last academic year to be accepted on a placement in a well-known company (cough Aston Martin). I worked in the finance department and pretty much decided that a career in finance and accountancy was were I wanted to be. Now, I’ve heard many stereotypes about accountants, but having a good grasp of the English language was never one of them. Once you learn how to present data in an Excel spreadsheet, the need for paragraphs quickly dwindles.

Who Am I?

I have a terrible memory. Most people I know would say the same thing. A blog is a way of keeping a record of what’s going on in my life. I have the romantic idea that I will look back on these blogs in a few years time with great fondness of the times I had. People come and go and circumstances inevitably change – that’s life. This is like my online diary.

Opinionated and Arrogant

I think writing a blog requires an opinion and the arrogance to think other people have the time and energy to read what you have to say. Luckily enough, I have no problem with either of these two traits. It’s probably why I’ve made myself look like an utter tool in front of hundreds of people throughout my life. Some love it, others hate it – it’s all for the ego. Hey, at least I’m upfront about it!

Should You Start One?

No. I’ve only been doing this a few days and already all I’m doing is thinking of the next article topic. Forget my final year exams and revision; procrastination just hit a whole new level I never even thought was possible. But I guess if you really want to do it, go for it. It’s kind of therapeutic.

Well, as promised, thanks for reading. I hope that’s given you a bit more of an insight into who I am… now click the like button, leave a comment, post the article of Facebook, follow my blogs and share the love.

Writing has become 21st century again – Viva la revolucion!

