#PostcardsFromPakistan – Journey Home…


I have to admit this picture was a fluke. When people think of Pakistan an image of Fasail Masjid often comes to mind. The masjid has become an iconic symbol for the country. I caught this image as I was flying back home and you can see it in the far background. Daydreaming, looking outside a plane window admiring God’s wonders as im flying above the clouds and thinking about the country I am leaving behind.

Have a look after the cut for more pictures of my journey home as well some parting thoughts about the motherland…

This was actually a depressing journey home! I think besides the family I have left in Pakistan there will be always be something pulling me there. Yes there is ALOT wrong with it but it has such a personality that I cant help but love it. No matter how much of an outsider I feel there is something about the village I live in that will be a second home, sounds strange I know. The country possesses so much potential but there is wonder how it is still running at the same time?

Its a popular saying among Pakistanis that ‘God is keeping the country on its feet’ because the people within it seem to be vying for its destruction through their corrupt ways. The future is complicated for Pakistan they have 2 super powers with vested interests (the US and China) who are willing to aid them one through financial/arms means and the other through infrastructure (I think you can guess which country does each) so who knows whose side we end up on.

Whatever happens I can definitely see myself returning to it within the next 5 years, the place bears a lot of happy memories and I see it as a home away from home. Could I live there permanently? HELL NO! You appreciate the little things that the UK provides for us that Pakistan just can’t but that does not make me love it any less, if anything after this trip my love has grown and I hope my relationship with the motherland grows as I grow old and learn to properly understand its complicated ways.

Peace Out…

