Movies You Have to See, Part 1

For the past half-a-decade or so, I’ve been bored during my summer holidays. I remember when GCSEs finished and our year group got an extended summer holiday, longer than the usual 6 weeks. Soon enough, I found out the more you go through the education system, the longer the holidays seem to get. Take university for example, we only ever went to lectures for a few hours a day, and even then only from October to May/June.

Needless to say, I’ve had a lot of spare time on my hands, and most probably, you have too. 

In my time off, and during the night hours when the world seems to stop working to rest, I started to watch more and more movies and TV to pass the time. Soon enough, I racked up a few favourites that I’d watch again and again.

In my opinion, regardless of actors, special effects, soundtrack, camera work, etc, NO movie is a GREAT movie without a GOOD storyline. The same applies for TV shows and even games. Of course, that’s not to say these other elements don’t matter, but without a good storyline – you have nothing. The proof is in the pudding – film companies lose millions on duds, not because they lack the effort but because the story lines are flawed. So assume that all these movies tell great stories – otherwise, they wouldn’t be on the list.

Anyhow, I’ve split this into 4 categories, and 4 separate posts: English, Eastern, Indian and Animated. I’ll give you my favourite and a runner-up; that means 8 movies on the to-do list by the end of this series. So here it is, hopefully you enjoy them as much as I do – I very much recommend you watch every single one!

English

Top Pick: V for Vendetta. (2006)

What’s it About: In the not-too-distant future, Britain has been turned into something dark. The government have fed on people’s fear and restricted freedom. One man, V, in a Guy Fawkes mask,  wants to change that and bring those who have wronged society to justice. “There is only one verdict – Vengeance”.

What I like: The script in this one is amazing. If you can keep up with Hugo Weaving (that’s Agent Smith from the Matrix trilogy) in the mask, then you’ll realise the movie has some great one liners. I also think Natalie Portman was perfectly cast and the minor role by Stephen Fry just adds to the Britishness of this film.

Runner Up: Forrest Gump. (1994)

What’s it About: Forrest Gump, played by Tom Hanks, is basically a retarded american kid born with dodgy legs – no offence to anyone. Eventually, he overcomes all of his disabilities and even though he isn’t the brightest crayon in the box, he turns out to lead an incredible life. From humble beginnings, to becoming a rich and famous businessman – the story is epic and Tom Hanks is amazing – as with most of his movies.

What I like: “My name is Forrest, Forrest Gump” 😀

That’s all for today folks!

